2018 Night time Skin Care Routine

Actually, I have been using most of the products in this skin care routine since last year so technically this is also my 2017 skin care routine. I have an acne prone skin. I have been suffering with acne since my college days (5 years ago) and having acne can somehow affect our confidence. Yes, I have been there. I have tried being the demo client when a Mary Kay beauty consultant conducted a demo on make-up and skin care. Sure, their concealers and make-ups can really conceal spots and blemishes but I am not into make-up so I did not buy that. I have experienced zits popping up and you do not know that blood and other gross-looking fluid coming out from your freshly popped pimples. I have experienced having flu and having big pimple inside of my nose at the same time, I do not know how to blow my nose without hurting. It was just the painful and worse feeling of having acne. But thanks to a product and my lifestyle changes that really helped a lot in clearing my skin. I will do another blog post for “How I cleared my Skin” sometime in the future because now is not yet the right time I guess since my face has a lot of pimples because it is that time of the month, yes, you know what I mean. But for now, let me introduce the products that I am using.

PRODUCTS and description (based on packaging and internet)

  1. Milea Bath and Body Pure Organic Argan Oil

2. NC Faye Extra Virgin Coconut Oil

Argan oil and Virgin Coconut oil are rich in Vitamin E and fatty acid that gives the skin its natural boost. It is very moisturizing and it makes the skin supple and gives you that baby-like skin. It also has anti-aging properties. I have also heard from a cosmetic demo that oily skin tends to age slower than dry skin. Maybe oil is one of the secret to achieve a Korean Glass Skin

  1. Farlin Baby Wipes

As the description on the back of the packaging says, FARLIN Baby Wipes are silky, thick, moist, cloth-like wipes gently formulated for baby’s use. It’s the quick and easy way to cleanse, moisturize, and refresh baby’s delicate skin. It’s mildly scented and alcohol-free to prevent baby’s skin from drying. Gentle on baby’s face, hands, and helps protect baby against diaper rash

  1. SKINFOOD Honey Flour Brightening Cleansing Foam

The story of mild cleansing that cares about your skin and makes it soft like flour and moist like honey.

  1. ST. Ives Fresh Skin Apricot Scrub

From America’s #1Scrub brand, this award winning Apricot scrub with 100% Natural Exfoliants, deep cleanse, instantly leaving skin smooth and glowing. Formulated without Parabens, Hypoallergenic, Dermatologist Tested, Non-Comedogenic.

  1. Acne.org Treatment (Benzoyl Peroxide – 2.5%)

This 2.5% benzoyl peroxide treatment is gel-based so it goes on clear and spreads easily. It is pharmaceutical grade, pH balanced, fragrance-free, and dye-free. It won’t “clump up” with moisturizers, and won’t turn white when you perspire. Studies show that 2.5% benzoyl peroxide works as well as 10% solutions, without the excessive dryness and irritation.

  1. GARNIER Light Complete Yogurt Sleeping Mask

It has Soy Yogurt Probiotic Extract combined with Lemon Essence, Vitamin C and Garnier’s own innovation called WhiteSpeed™ Serum. It  nourishes  the skin while sleeping and that it was formulated to work like a brightening yogurt treatment. It also claimed to reduce dullness, exfoliate dead cells, lighten spots and skin tone.

PROCEDURE

I do not wear a full coverage make-up, just a BB Cream, light blush, press powder and lip tint/lips stick then I am good to go. The first thing I do in my night time skin care routine is to remove my make-up using oils. I have been using oils as make-up remover since 2015, and since then, I did not turn my back to oils. Oils are very effective in dissolving make-up so that it can be easy to wipe-off using tissue paper or wet wipes. It also smoothens and does not dry out the skin because oils are very nourishing to the skin. I mix 1 part of Argan Oil and 3 parts of Coconut Oil (coz it’s cheaper than the Argan oil) and put it into a tinted glass bottle. Argan oils are usually stored in a tinted bottle, I really do not know the reason, I just noticed it. So using the dropper that comes with the bottle, I put 5 drops of oils into my palm and massage it on my face. In a circular motion, I massage the oils in my face for about 2-3 minutes. Then I will get 1 sheet of Farlin Wet Wipes to wipe off the oils and dirt in my face. AHHH. So satisfying!

Next is I wet my face with water, get a small amount of SKINFOOD Honey Flour Cleansing Foam and lather it with water until it forms a foam. Then I gently massage it into my face, in a circular motion until I feel that my face is already clean. Mind you, the smell of this foam is like a baby powder. Smells so nice. I am planning of replacing this cleanser after I emptied it up because I feel like the brightening effect that it claimed in its description is not that noticeable in my face.

So after rinsing, I use St. Ives Apricot Scrub (3 times a week) as my exfoliator. Then I’ll rinse again, then pat dry the face using towel or tissue paper. After using this product, you will notice that when you touch your face, it feels so soft and smooth, like the skin of a baby. This product has been my staple since college days. It is by far the best and cheap exfoliator for me.

Taking a quick break, I brush my teeth, apply lip balm then I will go back to my skin care again. I will apply Acne.org Treatment – Benzoyl Peroxide into my face and then let it dry for 5-10 minutes. Then the final step is to apply the Garnier Yoghurt Sleeping Mask into the face and neck and then I am ready to get some ZZZZ.

So here is my Skin Care Routine 2018.

Please, feel free to comment any suggestions or product recommendation that I can try. Have a good day!

Leave a comment